Skip to Content

Nov. 3, 2011 Board Actions

Posted in

Here is a review of the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters conference call on Thursday, Nov. 3, 2011, with:
-- CHAIRMAN: Joe Terrell, KLTV-TV, Tyler
-- VICE CHAIRMAN: Benji Snead, KCBD-TV, Lubbock
-- TV PRESIDENT: Jenny Martinez, KRGV, Weslaco
-- TV VICE PRESIDENT: Mike George, KBTX, Bryan
-- RADIO PRESIDENT: Chace Murphy, WTAW, Bryan-College Station
-- and Dallas AP's Barry Bedlan & Diana Heidgerd


-- $24,351.00

2. BILLS to be paid:
-- Board approved $50 monthly fee for November for webmaster Noble Sprayberry (NOTE: No TAPB conference call since July, so August, September & October $50 fees were paid/since regular monthly anticipated bill).

-- Board approved a contract, approximately $1,100, with BetterBNC from SmallTownPapers to do the TAPB annual contest online, both radio & TV.
The cost estimate is based on anticipated 900 or so entries. Last year's TAPB contest drew 782 total entries (628 TV & 154 radio).
Board members on Oct. 20 took part in a demonstration with the vendor, which currently operates radio/TV/online contests for approximately 20 other state Associated Press broadcast groups (including Florida, Pennsylvania, Minnesota, Massachusetts), plus numerous state AP Managing Editor (newspaper) contests.
This means TAPB will no longer fly judges in to Dallas to judge entries. All radio/TV station entries will be done online, judging will be done online (based on using judges who previously have flown to Texas to do radio/TV/online entries).
Advisories will move on the wire, starting in late December, on costs & how to enter.
-- The TAPB's FOIFT competition and scholarship entries will still be decided separately, to be judged by board members who will meet in Dallas, possibly the first weekend in March.
More details on dates & deadlines will move on the wire in late December, and be posted at:
The TAPB annual convention and awards ceremony will be Saturday, March 31, 2012, at the Headliners Club in Austin.

4. Update on TAPB co-sponsored seminar on Saturday, Oct. 29, at SMU in Dallas.
-- AP's Diana Heidgerd attended, TAPB board member Matt Thomas was on panels. About 150 people took part. Good sessions!

5. CONTEST/Plaque correction:
Board approved paying to get a replacement plaque for KWTX-TV, a typo was discovered on a first-place award.

6. Other business?
-- None.

Next TAPB conference call will be Thursday, Dec. 8, 2011, at 10:30 a.m. Board members will approve radio/TV/online contest rules & make further decisions related to new online submission of entries.