Skip to Content

January 12, 2012 Board Actions

Posted in

Here is a review of the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters board of directors conference call on Thursday, Jan. 12, 2012, with:

-- CHAIRMAN: Joe Terrell, KLTV-TV, Tyler
-- TV PRESIDENT: Jenny Martinez, KRGV, Weslaco
-- TV VICE PRESIDENT: Mike George, KBTX, Bryan
-- RADIO PRESIDENT: Chace Murphy, WTAW, Bryan-College Station
-- RADIO VICE PRESIDENT: Matt Thomas, KRLD, Dallas
-- and Dallas AP's Barry Bedlan & Diana Heidgerd

1. TAPB balance: Last bank statement said: $23,494.22
Board approved payment of following bills:
-- Global Crossing, from Dec. 8, 2011, conference call: $42.04
-- Noble Sprayberry, webmaster, for January: $50
Board members and AP's Barry Bedlan & Diana Heidgerd have been getting a few calls, about list of rules, signing on, etc. The group's website: now lists the radio & TV rules, instead of requiring stations to sign on to the contest site,, in order to get the lists.
Dates to remember (this information is also moving daily on the Texas AP wire):
-- Deadline to enter online radio/TV competitions will be Monday, Feb. 6, 2012.
-- Deadline for all contest entry fees (personal checks/corporate checks) to be received at the Dallas AP office will be noon (central time) on Thursday, Feb. 9. No credit cards accepted.
-- Online judging will be done by news directors, reporters, editors, photojournalists, website personnel, etc., from radio & TV stations located outside Texas.
-- TAPB board members will be at AP in Dallas the weekend of March 3 to process the results.
-- Winners are tentatively scheduled to be announced, on the Texas AP wire, the week of March 5.
-- TAPB awards banquet on Saturday night, March 31, at the Headliners Club in Austin.
-- Deadline to enter will be Friday, Feb. 17, 2012. Entries must be mailed to board member Jenny Martinez of KRGV-TV, she also handled receipt of entries last year.
Winner will be chosen by TAPB board during their March 3 meeting at AP in Dallas.
-- Deadline to enter will be Friday, Feb. 17, 2012. Entries must be mailed to chairman Joe Terrell of KLTV-TV, he also handled receipt of entries last year. Joe also asked each board member to contact at least five colleges/universities/educational personnel with information to encourage students to apply.
Winners will be chosen by TAPB board during their March 3 meeting at AP in Dallas. The amount available for scholarships will depend on how much money is generated by entry fees in the TAPB contest. Also, the TAPB board (during the March 3 meeting in Dallas) will consider how much to donate to the annual Headliners Foundation scholarship fund.
NOTE: This is the first year that TAPB has done its regular radio/TV contest online (instead of paying to fly judges to Dallas), so the judging costs should be lower than in past years. Diana has arranged 14 TV and five radio judges, all have previously flown to Dallas for TAPB judging. The board earlier voted to give each judge a $50 gift card (of his/her choice) following the competition, as a way of saying thank you.
6. Other business?
-- None.
Next conference call Thursday, Feb. 2, 2012, at 10:30 a.m.