Serving Texas Journalists

On Air — Online — Digital

2016 Texas AP Broadcasters Radio & TV Contests

It’s time for the annual Texas Associated Press Broadcasters radio & television contests. Spanish entries are welcome. You must be an AP member to enter. The deadline to enter is Monday, Feb. 1, 2016, at 11 p.m. (central time). All entries must have aired or been posted online during 2015. All entries must be the on-air version or the online version. An entry cannot be a re-creation. The competition is entirely online.

  •  To enter, go to:
  • Go to: “Find Contests”
  • Scroll down to: 2016 Texas AP Broadcasters, click on link, then click on “Log Into The Contest” and then to “Select a Contest” – scroll to 2016 Texas AP Broadcasters and click on that link
  • Then go to “Select Media Organization” and find your station call letters
  • Then your generic password for the first login is: bnc
  • You can then change the password for your specific station

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you were your station’s contest coordinator last year, please use your same password. If you are still having problems logging in to the site, or were not your station’s contest coordinator last year, please email contest coordinator Alexa Haik: The TAPB awards banquet is Saturday night, April 9, 2016, at the Headliners Club in Austin. Good luck!

Texas AP Broadcasters contest entry fees and/or awards dinner registrations can be paid via PayPal

Enter Station’s Call Letters

Order your awards duplicates

Do you need a duplicate of your 1st-place award? Just fill out and submit this form: TAPB 1st Place duplicates form

For duplicates of all other awards, please use this form: CERTIFICATE Order form 2015

Judges Comments Now Available

Some judges in the 2014-2015 Texas AP Broadcasters radio & TV contests provided written comments about the winning entries.

Other judges did not comment.

Please email AP’s Diana Heidgerd:  and put in the subject line whether you want the radio or TV comments emailed to you.

Thank you for entering!

Promoting your TAPB awards

Each year the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (“TAPB”) recognizes excellence and achievement in journalism with awards in various categories.

Your promotion must state the “Texas Associated Press Broadcasters” (NOT Associated Press) as the award’s source.

— Promotional use of the word “Best” will apply only to first-place winners.

Any use of a reference to a TAPB award that in any way misleads the public about a TAPB award, including but not limited to distorted or exaggerated claims, is strictly prohibited.

Violations of either the spirit or intent of this prohibition may result in the disqualification of the offending entity from TAPB contests for a one-year period.

TAPB board reserves all rights to determine the truthfulness of any promotion that uses a reference to TAPB awards. The TAPB will be the sole determiner of whether or not a violation has occurred.

The latest board actions

Feb. 11, 2016, Board Actions

Here is a review of the Feb. 11, 2016, Texas Associated Press Broadcasters board of directors conference call, with:

   _ CHAIRWOMAN: Jenny Martinez, KRGV-TV, Weslaco

   _ VICE CHAIRMAN: Matt Thomas, KRLD Radio, Dallas

   _ TV PRESIDENT: Jack Acosta, KENS, San Antonio

   _ TV VICE PRESIDENT: Michael O’Neill, KHOU, Houston

   _ RADIO VICE PRESIDENT: Tim Sullivan, KURV, McAllen

   _ and Dallas AP’s Diana Heidgerd


   1. TAPB Balance:

   _ $25,964.94 (NOTE: This amount does not include any entry fees from this year’s TAPB radio/TV contest)

   2. BILLS TO BE PAID: Board approved payment of following bills:

   _ $269.49 to TAPB contest coordinator Alexa Haik, invoice provided.

   _ $50 for February webmaster fee to Noble Sprayberry


   _ 2016: Total entries: 728 (561 TV and 167 radio). In 2015: 674 total entries (580 TV and 94 radio)

   _ Number of stations entered this year: 28 TV & 9 radio: total of 37 stations. Compared to 29 TV and 7 radio stations, total of 36 stations entered in 2015.

   _ Total entry fees paid this year: $35,365 (compared to $33,265 last year), figures are before minor costs for PayPal.

   _ Of the 37 stations that entered this year – only three paid by regular check. The rest used PayPal.


   Judging continues through Monday, Feb. 15.

   _ The board approved having AP’s Diana Heidgerd buy $50 American Express gift cards for each of the 22 TAPB judges ($1,100), as a thank-you gift. Same amount as last year. Diana will purchase and submit receipt for reimbursement.

   _ The board approved having Diana purchase $100 AMEX gift cards for each of the six TAPB board members, as a thank-you gift to be presented during the April 9, 2016, convention in Austin. Same amount as last year. Diana will purchase and submit receipt for reimbursement.

   5. FOIFT:

   _ The Freedom of Information Foundation/TAPB competition continues through Friday, Feb. 26. The website is open so people can enter.


   _ Matt Thomas/update. Advisory moving on the wire through Monday, Feb. 22 deadline. So far no scholarship applications received.


   _ The board voted to donate $1,000 to the Headliners Foundation/TAPB scholarship, same amount as last year.


   _ This year’s event will be Saturday, Oct. 15, in Fort Worth (same day as the Lone Star Emmy Awards). More details later, TAPB board can think about how much to donate this year (decision after the April 9 TAPB convention). Last year the TAPB group donated $3,000.


   _ Board members will convene at the Dallas AP office at noon on Saturday, March 5, to select scholarship winners, choose FOIFT winner, set agenda for April 9, 2016, TAPB business session and awards banquet that night, set registration cost & pick banquet menu, etc.


   _ None